New unit directors at the Ministry of Transport and Communications as of 2019

Uutinen 09.10.2018 08.59 fi sv en

The appointments of almost all the current unit directors at the Ministry of Transport and Communications will end at the end of 2018. Minister Anne Berner announced the appointments of new directors on 4 October 2019. Their assignments will start in the beginning of 2019.

For the next three-year period:

Elina Thorström will head the Markets Unit and Sini Wirén the Basic Services Unit at the Services Department;

Maria Rautavirta will be the director of the Data Business Unit and Elina Immonen the director of the Safety and Security Unit at the Data Department;                 

at the Networks Department Timo Kievari will head the Development Unit, Maija Ahokas the Networks Regulation Unit, and Päivi Antikainen the Climate and Environment Unit;                 

at the Ministerial Governance Department Sanna Ruuskanen will be the director of the Finance and Development Unit, Jussi Luomajärvi the director of the Administration Unit, and Miikka Rainiala the director of the Steering Unit.

Silja Ruokola will continue as the Director of Legal Affairs at the Ministry.

The positions of the Communications Director, the director of the International Affairs Unit and the Director of Strategic Affairs were not open because  the five-year appointment of the Communications Director Susanna Niinivaara continues;  the appointment of Timo Koskinen, Director of the International Affairs Unit, started as the unit began its operation on 1 August 2018 and will last until 31 January 2020;  and the appointment of the Director of Strategic Affairs Taina Pieski will continue until 30 September 2020.

The Ministry's appointments for unit directors, other than that of the Communications Unit, are for a period of three years.  The unit director positions are open for employees of the Ministry of Transport and Communications.