Mandate for Advisory Board for Network Security renewed

Press release 29.06.2022 15.15 fi sv en

Man uses tablet computer. (Photo: Mika Pakarinen, Keksi/Ministry of transport and communications

On 22 June 2022, the Government appointed the Advisory Board for Network Security for a new term of office. The role of the Advisory Board is to assess and develop the security of domestic communications networks and to support the authorities’ decision-making processes. The Board was appointed for the period from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2024.

It is tasked with monitoring the development of communications networks and technology and making proposals for improving network security. It may also discuss other cyber security isses identified by the Government.

“The Advisory Board has proved to be efficient and has strengthened the cooperation on cyber security. It allows a wider debate in the changing security environment. On international forums, too, Finland's approach has been considered balanced,” says Minister of Transport and Communications Timo Harakka.

European Union 5G guidelines in the background

The setting up of the Advisory Board responds to the EU’s joint risk assessment on the security of 5G networks carried out during Finland’s Presidency of the Council of the EU as well as to the EU toolbox for 5G security issued in January 2020 that includes recommendations on how to improve 5G security.

The Advisory Board is based on the new provisions of the Act on Electronic Communications Services that entered into force at the beginning of 2021. They are part of the implementation of the EU guidelines and toolbox in Finland.

National Cyber Security Director to be a member of the Board

For the new term, the National Cyber Security Director was invited to join the Board.

The Advisory Board will be chaired by Laura Eiro, Director General at the Ministry of Transport and Communications.

The Board has representatives from the Ministry of Defence, Ministry of the Interior, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment and Ministry of Finance. Other participants represent the Transport and Communications Agency Traficom, the Finnish Security and Intelligence Service, the Defence Forces and the state security networks Erillisverkot Oy. In addition, the telecommunications companies Elisa Corporation, Telia Finland Oyj and DNA as well as the Finnish Federation for Communications and Teleinformatics are represented.


Maija Ahokas, Director of Unit, tel. +358 40 718 6178,, Twitter: @mmaija

Outi Slant, Senior Specialist, tel. +358 29 535 9298,